Policy Change For Amalia Loop At Atlanta’s Pioneer RC

  • In a departure from the previous ruling, there has been a change in how the Amalia loop will be handled in the event that the Amalia player is unable to break the loop. Prior to this ruling the Amalia player could expect the game to be declared a draw at that point once both players demonstrated that they were unable, or unwilling, to break the loop with removal. After this ruling, the Amalia player is forced to mill their entire deck before getting to the forced Draw. So the opponent can now wait until the Amalia player’s deck is milled all the way out and then decide to use removal to break the loop. So rather than the loop always resulting in a Draw, now it’s either a Draw or a win for the Amalia player’s opponent if they’re able to remove Amalia.